Champions for Independent Agents.

Ohio Insurance Agents (OIA) is the premier trade association for independent agents in the state. We help our members protect consumers and employers by offering access to the best resources, tools and professional development programs available. OIA serves our members in four key areas: advocacy, professional development, business solutions, and industry thought leadership.

Our Mission

We promote, progress and protect the professional advice and guidance only independent insurance agents provide. We believe the right insurance matters, and independent agents are best capable of providing peace of mind and protection.

Who We Represent

OIA is the voice of 1,300 independent insurance agencies and their clients. We represent agencies of every size, from small, family-owned businesses to large agencies with multiple locations. Collectively, these agencies employ more than 10,000 Ohioans. OIA members write 82 percent of the commercial insurance policies and 44 percent of personal insurance policies in Ohio.

Top 10 Priorities for 2022

Advocacy

OIA and Big I National advising on state and federal issues that affect your agency, from COVID-19 pandemic relief programs to a level playing field with Internet insurance carriers and much more.

DEI Efforts

OIA is striving to make a difference in the industry, and we are committed to ensuring the IA system embraces diversity and inclusion as well as reflects the demographics of our state.

Agency Protection

E&O, Cyber, EPLI and Umbrella insurance, training, education, policies and procedures and other resources to protect your agency.

Continuing Education

We’ve got it all for your training needs and scholarship funds available for your agency to take advantage of our many programs.

Business Planning Tools

Digital tools and consulting services to help you understand your agency value and plan for milestones within your agency.

Marketing Materials

Templated marketing materials for your agency to customize for your clients and prospects.

Agency Resources

From resource guides that answer all of your agency questions to expert advice from our team of insurance and legal experts, OIA is your complete resource partner.

Workers’ Comp

Enroll your agency and clients in OIA’s program. Excellent claims management, safety training and an opportunity to earn revenue for your agency.

HR Solutions

Develop an HR Platform for IAs to solve their recruitment, hiring, and training challenges.

Networking Events

Large and small networking events to network with peers, company reps, and tech partners.

Leadership

Board of Directors

Brent Phelan, JD, CIC, CPCU, CRM, CSRM
Board Chair
Katherine G. Watson,
CIC
Vice Chair
Derek Sprouse, CIC
Director
Meghan Griffith Ragozzino
Director
Kelley Culley, MBA, CPCU, CIC
Director
Andy Stephey, AFIS, CIC, CRM, LUTCF
Director
Jonathan Theders, CRA, CHSP
Director
Matt Simon, CIC, CPCU
Ex Officio Member, IIABA National Director

Association Executives

Jeff Smith,
JD, CIC, CAE
Chief Executive Officer
(614) 552-3056
jeff@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Jody Geiger, MBA
Chief Operating Officer
(614) 552-3066
jody@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Agency Relations

Craig Niess, CVA, MBA
Director of Business Planning & Valuation
(216) 288-8409
craig@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Luke Hippler
Business Planning and Valuation Analyst
(614) 552-3068
luke@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Jodie Shaw, CLCS, CPIA
Director of Business Development
(614) 552-3036
jodie@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Dustin Mahrt, API
Company Partners Manager
(614) 552-3087
dustin@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Lauren Reid
Government Affairs Manager
(614) 552-3040
lauren@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Jeanie Giesler, CISR, CPIA
Resource Center Advisor
(614) 552-3054
jeanie@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Brian Lawrence
Director of HR Solutions
(614) 552-3048
brian@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Seth Marana, CIC, TRA, CIC
Member Experience Manager
(614) 552-3064
seth@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Professional Development

Ashley Fitzsimmons
Director of Professional Development
(614) 552-3043
ashley@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Joshua Moore
Professional Development Coordinator
(614) 552-3049
joshua@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Agency Services

Ashley Riley, API, PLCS
Director of Risk Management
(614) 552-3052
ashleyr@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Katie Gratton, CPIA, CISR
Account Executive
(614) 552-3042
katie@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Aleigh DeVictor, CPIA
Account Manager
(614) 552-3044
alexandra@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Stacy Rosenthal, CISR, CPIA
Account Manager
(614) 552-3058
srosenthal@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Teresa Warren
Account Manager
(614) 552-3063
teresa@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Finance and Administration

Shawna Belcher
Governance Manager
(614) 552-3065
shawna@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Dawn Kuhn
Director of Finance
(614) 552-3055
dawn@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Buffy Terry
Office Manager
(614) 552-3066
buffy@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Alex Angle
Staff Accountant
(614) 552-3041
alex@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Marketing

Braxton Mullet
Marketing Manager
(614) 552-3045
braxton@ohioinsuranceagents.com
Valencia Henderson
Events and Marketing Coordinator
(614) 552-3053
valencia@ohioinsuranceagents.com

IT and Data

Donny Houck
Technology & Information Systems Manager
(614) 552-3086
donny@ohioinsuranceagents.com

Our Team is Ready to Help.

We help our members protect consumers and employers by offering access to the best resources, tools and professional development programs available. OIA serves our members in four key areas: advocacy, professional development, business solutions and industry thought leadership.

See Staff Directory

Are you passionate, collaborative and innovative?

We want to work with you!

See Available Positions

Success Starts Here

Sign up for our newsletter today!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.